Edward McMillan-Scott lost his seat in the European Parliament election for Yorkshire and Humber last night as UKIP topped the poll.

The Liberal Democrat was ousted as six MEPs were announced for the region.

Linda McAvan (Labour) retained her seat, while Richard Corbett made up a second seat for Labour.

The UK Independence Party claimed three of the six seats, through Jane Collins, Amjad Bashir and Mike Hookem.

Tim Kirkhope (Conservative) also retained his seat.

UKIP topped the poll in Yorkshire and Humber with 403,630 votes, beating Labour into second place on 380,189.

The Conservatives finished third with 248,945, the Greens polled 102,282 and Liberal Democrats 80,182.

Meanwhile, nationally, Nigel Farage claimed victory as UKIP headed for first place in the Euro poll, declaring the result was an “earthquake” in British politics.

He said: “UKIP is going to win this election and yes that will be an earthquake because never before in the history of British politics has a party that will be seen to be an insurgent party ever topped the polls in a national election.”