Cowling builder Nathan Wrigglesworth was to the fore in Bradford DMC’s Eric S Myers Trophy Trial at Skyrakes Farm near Skipton.

The final round of the West Yorkshire Champion-ship trials series took place in arctic conditions on the moor high above Gargrave.

Seventy contenders and 14 observers battled with ice-coated sections and frozen grass gradients which were plotted by the ever-active Bradford Motor Club team headed by Hebden trialer Paul Bailey.

With the absence of Emb-say points leader Aran Drachenberg, the adult title points went to Wriggles-worth ahead of Harrogate motorcycle salesman Joel Sadler, who trailed Drach-enberg by a mere four points.

Trawden’s Pidcock Mont-esa rider Ross Crosby shru-gged off the conditions to hurl the powerful Japanese four-stroke through 42 sections for a mere three penalties to win the expert class.

For Skelding youngster Sam Johnson, it was an early bath after a damaging first-lap fall. The Class B rider has headed the youth title chase for several weeks from Rawdon’s Sam Beecroft-Penny.

The Green course, featuring half the hard section and half the clubman routes, was won by Drigh-lington’s Paul Kettlewell.

He triumphed ahead of Barrowford rider Phil Scott, Oakworth’s Darren Holmes and Earby metal casting engineer Richard Taylor.

The weekly battle in Youth Class C was again the hottest action at the Bradford event when Idle’s Joe Faunthorpe got the upper hand on Eccleshill boy Keiran Child.

Huddersfield Falcon Club member Chris Greenwood also rode a Honda machine to victory in the clubman class, beating Pudsey’s Mark Chippendale and South Elmsall’s Peter Field.

Despite the tough conditions, only six retirements were recorded.

RESULTS – Championship course, Experts: 1 Ross Crosby (Pidcock Montesa) 3, 2 Nathan Wrigglesworth (Beta) 26, 4 Joel Sadler (Acklam Beta) 31. Inters: 1 Adam Milner (Beta) 19, 2 Anthony Ayrton (Montesa) 37, 3 Danny Cockshott (Gas Gas) 55. Novices: 1 Simon Tyas (Gas Gas) 46, 2 Sam Yeadon (Acklam Beta) 54, 3 Matthew Alpe (Montesa) 60. Youth Class A: Jack Price (JST R&T Gas Gas) 12. Class Awards, ES Myers Trophy – Crosby. Geoff Broadbent Trophy – Milner. Chew Cup – Tyas. Clubmen: 1 Chris Greenwood (Honda) 12, 2 Mark Chippendale (Gas Gas) 23, 3 Peter Field (Sherco) 24. Youth Class B: 1 Tom Geldart (Beta) 49, 2 Ben Goddard (Beta) 58, 3 Thomas Hartley (Gas Gas) 65. Youth Class C: 1 William Tolson (24, 2 Joe Child 159. (All Beta).

l Cullingworth’s Robin Luscombe confirmed his Luscombe Suzuki Leeds organisation will sponsor the ACU British Trials Sidecar Championship and the ACU Youth Trials Championship for a third year.

Luscombe also offered to take on board the ACU Ladies and Girls Trials Championship but this offer was declined by the Trials and Enduro Committee as there were other plans regarding that championship class.

Luscombe said: “It would have been quite easy to sponsor the Ladies and Girls series.

“Luscombe Suzuki Leeds have a strong media approach, so the series would have enjoyed nationwide publicity.

“As far my activities go, I will contest the 2013 sidecar championship but it will depend on Sam’s (Luscombe’s son and riding partner) work commitments.”