Ives guides Oxenhope into last 16 of the West Riding County Cup

Keighley News: Oxenhope’s Dayne Ward slides in ahead of Tyersal’s Graeme Sides Buy this photo » Oxenhope’s Dayne Ward slides in ahead of Tyersal’s Graeme Sides

Tyersal 3 Oxenhope Rec 4

Oxenhope produced a battling performance in a thrilling West Riding County Cup tie, coming from behind twice against their West Riding County Amateur Premier Division opponents to reach the last 16.

The Worth Valley side, who have not been at their best recently, started tentatively. When the visitors did settle, they found home keeper Karl Renardson in outstanding form.

On 25 minutes Tyersal broke down field and scored, with the visitors appealing for offside in vain.

Dan Moriarty and Michael Gar-nett both went close but could not beat the in-form keeper and Tom Marshall saw his effort beat Renardson, hit the inside of the post and roll along the wrong side of the goal-line.

Oxenhope upped their efforts in the second period. Their pressure told when an inswinging corner from Moriarty was forced into the net at close quarters by Garnett.

However, Tyersal immediately broke down field and caught the Oxenhope defence asleep to regain the advantage.

On the hour mark, Marshall jinked his way into the box and was brought down, Moriarty slotting home the penalty to restore parity.

Oxenhope took the lead when Moriarty went past his marker but was upended by the last defender just outside the area. The Tyersal player was shown a straight red card and Moriarty got up and stroked a superb, curling free-kick into the top corner.

The home side were not finished though. A cross into the box ricocheted off one of their players, wrong-footing keeper Sam Lee to make it 3-3.

As extra-time loomed, young midfielder Ryan Ives scored a magnificent winner. Spotting the keeper off his line, he lobbed a perfectly-weighted ball over the custodian into the net from outside the area. This Saturday Oxenhope host Beeston in the League Cup (1.30pm).

Oxenhope: Lee, Bentham (Day), McNicol (Pullan), Nelson, Ward, White, Moriarty, Ives, Garnett, Trowers, Marshall.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree