Haworth’s Helen Glover was first lady in the 31st Stanbury Splash, collecting the Soreen trophy for the fourth time.

Having won previously in 2007, 2008 and 2010, the 29-year-old set off as fast as she could and never faltered.

Her time of 52min 46sec in the seven-mile race from Penistone Hill Country Park, featuring 1,200 feet of climb, saw her finish 33rd overall and just short of three minutes ahead of second female Helen Leigh, of Blackburn Harriers.

The Keighley & Craven AC runner was just a place behind local male trophy winner Paul Crabtree and her efforts also earned her the first local female honour.

The race certainly lived up to its name. As well as the usual splashing through the streams en route, there was plenty of splashing through the mud after the recent wet spell.

The first runner to conquer the conditions in a fast 43.50 – only two minutes outside the course record – was recent Stoop and 2012 Soreen winner Tom Adams, of Ilkley Harriers.

A minute behind was fellow Yorkshireman Mark Addison, who also finished second at the Auld Lang Syne race behind his cousin Tom.

Keighley’s Ian Holmes, the 16-time winner of the event, finished third in 45.09 to regain the V40 title for the seventh time, getting the better of six-time British champion Simon Bailey.

2010 V50 winner Neil Holding returned to win his category, while V60 British and English champion Ben Grant won his age-group award, with Norman Bush claiming the V70 crown.

Silsden-based Wharfedale Harr-iers won the team event, with Sam Watson seventh, Nick Charlesworth tenth and Jonny Bradshaw 14th.

Wharfedale also claimed the ladies team prize, thanks to Emma Hopkinson, Louise Pickles and Katherine Kirkham.

All runners received a much-appreciated Soreen Malt Loaf from the race sponsors.

A bumper crop of juniors also splashed through the mud to finish the Soreen Quarry Runs.

Overall winners were Bingley Harrier Matthew Merrick (u-16 & u-18), Wharfedale’s Thomas Nelson (u-10, u-12 & u-14) and Jake Phythian-Lee (u-8).