JAMES Hall, of Wharfedale Harriers stormed home at the head of 208 runners, in the evening sun, to set a new record time of 6 mins 24 secs in this years’ Murder Mile at Silsden.

The race is a single event that has young and old competing alongside each other over the same route, producing interesting rivalries and results.

Many of the children competing in the race attend local primary schools, where the race is promoted as a “fun” event!

Despite the weather forecasters promising rain, the sun beat down and high humidity added one more level of difficulty to the gruelling uphill race starting at Silsden Golf Club.

In recent years, the weather has produced thunder and lightning in addition to hammering rain, making the winding 485ft of ascent murderous.

Following in Hall’s wake, the second and third men were Joe Crossfield (Calder Valley) and Ian Holmes (Bingley Harriers).

The first female across the line was under-14 girl Emily Jones of Wharfedale Harriers after an impressive run up the hill. Meanwhile, the first three senior ladies across the line were Diane Whiteoak (KCAC), Julie Elliott and Dawn Denton (Wharfedale Harriers).

Guiseley’s James Turland, who was sixth overall, was the first under-17 boy to finish, followed by Harry Muir (tenth), and Thomas Nelson (11th), both of Wharfedale Harriers.

The first under-17 girl was Kelsie Rutherford (Blackburn Harriers), followed by Jasmin Hayhurst (KCAC) and Rhiannon Conway (KCAC).

In the under-14 category, the top three boys were Wharfedale Harriers’ Robbie Johnstone, Logan Hargreaves-Madhas and Lewis Morton, while the top three girls were Emily Jones (Wharfedale Harriers), Olivia Roper (Bingley Harriers) and Keera Nelson (Wharfedale Harriers).

Fraser Sproul (Kendal) was first under-12 boy with Jack Muir and William Thompson, of Wharfedale Harriers, second and third.

The first girl was Charlotte Barrett (Wharfedale Harriers), followed by Beth Roberts (KCAC) and Alice Jones (Wharfedale Harriers).

The top three under-nine boys were Nathan Caunt (Wharfedale Harriers), Alfie Liddell (Aire View School) and Noah Smith (Glusburn School), and the first three girls were Eibhlis Price (Wharfedale Harriers), Anna Fryers (KCAC) and Helena Roberts (Wharfedale Harriers).