Upper Airedale Junior Association reveals irs players of the year

Girls winner Poppy Saffery

Girls winner Poppy Saffery

First published in Cricket

The Upper Airedale Junior Cricket Association’s five cricketers of the year were revealed at the competition’s annual presentation evening at Skipton’s Rendezvous Hotel.

Denholme’s Andrew Wear picked up his third successive accolade when he took the under-17 prize, while Sam Solley (Cowling u-15s), Elliot Stockton (Embsay u-13s), Joe Hall (Cullingworth u-11s) and Poppy Saffery (Aire Valley Angels and Cononley) were also winners.

For Solley the award made up for finishing second in both batting and bowling averages, while Stockton captured the u-13 prize by one point, from Wilsden’s Jacob Jagger.

Cullingworth’s Hall set new records for batting and bowling at under-11 level while Poppy Saffery earned the girls trophy as after impressing in the under-11 competition.

Batting awards: Ben Fothergill (Oakworth u-17s), Sam Murphy (Cullingworth u-15s), Joel Fothergill (Oakworth u-13s), Thomas Meakin (Steeton u-11s) and Bradley Powell (Oakworth u-9s).

Bowling awards: Andrew Wear (Denholme u-17s), Isaac Murray (Denholme u-15s), Jack Perry (Embsay u-13s), Joseph Hall (Cullingworth u-11s) and Ellis Marshall (Cullingworth u-9s).

Fielding awards: Callum Gerrard (Denholme u-17s), Ben Howell (Oakworth u-15s), Oliver Gath (Crossflatts u-13s) and Owen Bridge (Steeton u-11s).

Wicketkeeping awards: Callum Gerrard (Denholme u-17s), Lewis Hopkinson (Oxenhope u-15s), Billy Whitford (Cullingworth u-13s) and Toby Tidswell (Cullingworth u-11s) taking the honours.

Special awards (to key players from the association' representative squads, who performed well): Chris Wademan (Glusburn), Callum Lockett (Upper Wharfedale), Ben Whit-field (Wilsden), George Sutcliffe (Skipton), Oliver Huck (Oakworth), Lewis Hopkinson (Oxenhope), Jacob Jagger (Wilsden), Joel Fothergill (Oakworth), Matthew Fleetwood (Oxenhope), Alex Baker (Oxenhope), Ali Ahmed (Cullingworth), Will Hopper (Oxenhope), Danny Murphy (Cullingworth), James Mukherjee (Skipton), Thomas Meakin (Steeton), Tom Starkey (Skipton), Joe Hall (Cullingworth) and Todd Cartwright (Crossflatts).

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree