OVER 300 youngsters took part in the Bradford Primary Schools' Cross-Country finals at Cliffe Castle when competitors from the Keighley area were not found wanting.

In an event that was organised by Oakbank School, they won three of the events, had a 1-2-3 in the Year Four boys' race and picked up a silver and two bronzes besides.

In addition, in the team events they won the Year Six boys' race courtesy of East Morton, and also collected a silver and four bronzes.

Alex Sadler-Townsend (Oxenhope) won the Year Four boys' race and was followed home by Sorren Keller-Bradbury (Haworth) and Zac Jardine (Eastburn).

Meanwhile, Archie Peaker (East Morton) triumphed in the Year Five boys' race, while James Sadler-Townsend, brother of Alex, and Zak Dimitrijevic collected gold and bronze for Oxenhope in the age group above.

Alice O'Sullivan (Steeton) was runner-up in the Year Five girls' event, while Izabella Baxter-King (Lees) took a bronze in the Year Four girls' race.

Runners-up in the Year Five girls' team race were Wilsden, while there were team bronzes for Haworth (Year Four boys), East Morton (Year Five boys), Oakworth (Year Six girls) and Steeton (Year Four girls).

The event involved all the local sports partnerships from Bradford district (including schools from Keighley, Bradford, Ilkley, Haworth, Bingley and Baildon), who had qualified to represent their area having finished as one of the top two schools during qualifiers.

The top five teams in each age group, plus up to ten wild card individuals in each race, have been invited to represent Bradford in the West Yorkshire finals on Thursday, March 8 at Temple Newsam House in Leeds.

This means that Haworth and Oxenhope could be representing the Year Four boys, Steeton the Year Four girls, East Morton, Wilsden and St Joseph's (Keighley) the Year Five boys, Wilsden the Year Five girls, East Morton the Year Six boys and Oakworth the Year Six girls.

Wild-card entries could include Jardine, Charlie Robinson (East Morton) and James Rosser (Silsden) among the Year Four boys, and Baxter-King, Sophia Casson (Oxenhope) and Amelie Thomas (Cullingworth) in the Year Four girls.

In the Year Five boys, the entries may contain Harry Smithies (Silsden), while O'Sullivan, Kayleigh Williams (Cullingworth) and Silsden duo Abigail Kirkham and Kate Corlett are potential runners in the Year Five girls.

Townsend and Dimitrijevic head a strong potential wild-card entry among the Year Six boys, backed up by Tom Armitage (Parkwood) and Owen Pothecary (Eastburn), while Steeton's Chloe Scott could be involved in the Year Six girls' race.