SILSDEN’S Dougie Lampkin became the oldest winner aged 42 of the Richmond Motor Club's annual Scott Trial for sixth time in most diabolical weather conditions on record.

The 200 contestants left the start area on Feldom Range at 9am to ride 80 miles totally off-road against the clock and the elements.

Visibility was less than 50 metres in places. Torrential rain brought some stream sections up to a metre in depth.

Three sections were impassable and the advance party of officials had to alter 20 sections.

Six previous winners but it was Denby Dale JST Gas Gas's Jack Price who set the standard time. He started off one minute and twenty seconds of ahead five times winner Lampkin and blazed a trail through 78 sections to set a time of 5.07.17.

That time penalised the entire field but the canny Lampkin kept Price in sight all the way and his time penalty was a mere five.

The remaining 80 finishers incurred time penalties running into three figures so Price won the time race but not the trial which was down to section penalties and won by Lampkin from Jack Peace and James Dabill, who overcame a detached rear tyre on his Beta machine.

The Leeds rider incurred 22 time penalties but was third best on observation behind Lampkin and Jack Peace. The retirement number was 60 per cent which was not much above the normal numbers. For Jack Price it was memorable day, fastest on time, second overall, member of the JST Gas Gas winning manufacturer’s team with past winner Michael Brown and Dan Peace.

Results: 1 Lampkin (Vertigo) 5+51= 56. 2 Jack Price (JST Gas Gas) 0 +66 = 66, 3 James Dabill (Beta) 22=58=80. 4 Jack Peace (JST Gas Gas) 29+56=85, 5 Michael Brown (JST Gas Gas) 21+61=87, 6 Guy Kendrew (Beta) 25+67=92.

Meanwhile, the Yeadon-Guiseley club stayed on home ground for its eighth club championship at Deer Park, Bingley where 50 members contested the eighth club championship trial.

Three 12-section variations faced the adult and youth classes while 19 youngsters rode a different six-section course again with three choices for the skills of the girls and boys.

The easy route in the small wheels division was interesting with five young ladies competing and dominated by Huddersfield’s Alanna Eagleton, who won from Skipton’s Ella Webster.

Yeadon Montesa rider Louis Haley won the hard route in the adult ranks from Bradford teenager Charlie Smith and Guiseley expert winner Joe Jennings.

Michael Benn ruled Clubman A with Gabby Whitham right on Benn’s case.

Two failures by Gabbby let Benn off the hook. Karl Greaves rode his Vertigo to Clubman B victory leaving West Leeds secretary Mark Chippendale to keep young Charlie Crosland under control. The lad grabbed third spot just a dab up on Chris Manby.

Results: Hard course, Expert: Joe Jennings (Gas Gas) 31. Inter: Louis Haley (Montesa) 26. Novices: Tom Rushton (Montesa) 32, Tam Hain (Beta) 134. Youth Class A: Charlie Smith (Beta) 27. Youth Class B: Harry Hemingway (Beta) 49.

Clubman A: Novices: Michael Benn (Gas Gas) 10, Gabby Whitham (Beta) 12, James Noble (Beta) 13. Youth Class B: George Hemingway (Beta) 14, Henry Stephenson (Beta) 18, Alfie Lampkin (Vertigo) 24. Clubman B: Novices: Karl Greaves (Vertigo) 6, Jarvis Dean (Beta) 86, Charlie Weare (Beta) 90. Over 40’s: Chris Manby (Gas Gas) 18. Over 50s: Mark Chippendale (TRS) 14, Andy Howe ((Montesa) 23, Mark Yeadon (Beta) 29.

Youth Class A: Sam Robinson (Sherco) 39. Youth Class B: C.J. Tambrro (Sherco) 125. Youth Class C: Charlie Crossland (Beta) 17, Jasper Fox (Beta) 22, Small Wheels hard route: Charlie Petty (Beta) 14, Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 20, Alfie Carney (Oset) 24.

Small Wheels medium route: Bobby Crabtree (Oset) 11, Jimmy Crabtree (Oset) 14, Harvey Davison (Beta) 21. Small Wheels easy route: Alanna Eagleton 13, Ella Webster 21, Mollie Carney 39.