Triangle 202 all out

Oxenhope 203-6

OXENHOPE took revenge for their recent cup defeat taking maximum points at Triangle in the Spenser Wilson Halifax League Premier Division.

Winning the toss and fielding, the visitors Oxenhope knew they had to be at their best to contain a Triangle side that scored more than 400 the previous week. But the bowling line-up continued to impress with Liam Dyson at the forefront of the attack, taking 4-59 off his 14 overs, removing four of the top five batsmen.

Nathan Madden made 40 at the top of the order but the innings did not get going until Daniel Crossland (60) and Mark Uttley (55) got together.

But the Oxenhope quicks kept it tight with Joel Fothergill and Lewis Hopkinson both taking two important wickets as the home side were restricted to just 202 and crucially conceded three extra overs to Oxenhope.

In reply a steady start came undone as four wickets went down with just 60 on the boards Dave Turner taking two victims.

However, this brought Lewis Hopkinson and Chris Kibble to the crease and they put on 90 for the fifth wicket to get in sight of victory.

Hopkinson was finally removed for 67, Joe Ousey hit 14 before also departing leaving Joel Fothergill (10no) and Kibble undefeated on 56 to snatch the victory in crucially the 47th of 48 overs available to them.

Meanwhile, Oxenhope II came up against a Queensbury side strengthened by the absence of a 1st Xi fixture & came out on top in an enthralling game.

Put into bat the Queensbury innings centred entirely on an unbeaten 74 from Phil Sharples, who not only carried his bat but also a ham string pull which restricted his running throughout the innings.

Brett Marriott (32) and Damian Cockroft (18) were the only other players to reach double figures in a modest total of 172-8 in 40 overs.

Luke Fleetwood (2), Duncan Tetley (3), Rohid Ali (2) were the wicket takers as the spilling of five catches prevented the full 10-wicket haul.

The home side were quickly on the ropes at 11-3 as only Jimmy Marshall showed the required application at the top of the order, he was to go on to make just 26 runs off 70 balls but supplied the anchor role needed.

Luke Fleetwood (15) and Jonny Holden (35) looked to edging towards victory. But their removal by Andy Bruce and the swift departure of two more batsmen left the cause looking lost at 111-8.

The experience of Duncan Tetley (34no) and the power hitting of Anas Tanveer (24no) turned the match again and they cruised home with three overs to spare.

Conner Walker (3-31) and Harris Cunningham (2-35) were the pick of the away bowlers.

Meanwhile, a bumper Friday night crowd saw Oxenhope take the first step towards the Keighley Cup with an impressive display, knocking off the 132 required runs in just 14 overs without the loss of a wicket.

The visitors found runs hard to come by off the Oxenhope attack with Lewis Hopkinson, Joel Fothergill and Ben Howell conceding just 55 runs between them off 12 overs.

But it was Scott Mallinson (3-27) and Duncan Tetley (3-39) who took the wickets.

For Ingrow the key contributions came from Will Rankin and Jake Hoyle with Liam Whitney performing some big hits on his return to Oxenhope.

The result, however, was never in doubt as Lewis Hopkinson (87no) off just 43 balls and Josh Fleetwood (39no) cruised to victory.