Illingworth St Mary's 161-9

Oxenhope 119 all out

OXENHOPE crashed to a 42-run defeat to Spenser Wilson Halifax League Premier Division champions elect Illingworth St Mary's.

Batting first, Illingworth made an excellent, if steady start, with Callum Cook (48) and Liam Kelly (50) putting 86 on the board before the first breakthrough was achieved by Lewis Hopkinson.

Oxenhope bowlers Liam Dyson (3-43) and Ben Howell (3-29) ensured that this was going to be no easy road to the premiership.

Only Ben Robertshaw (20no) made any further significant contribution, the visitors chances not helped by two run-outs, as they were restricted to 161-9 in the full 45 overs.

Early wickets for Jamie Moorhouse put Oxenhope in trouble, but Howell stuck to the task going on to make 40 while wickets tumbled at the other end.

Josh Tetley with 19 offered some late hope but Luke Brooksby (3-20) and Ben Robertshaw (4-36) were in no mood to let the title slip from their grasp and eventually dismissed the home team for 119 and secure their third-successive title as they climbed the leagues.

Meanwhile, Oxenhope II achieved their third consecutive win in a low scoring game at Outlane to keep themselves out of the relegation places with just one fixture to go.

A nine-man home team elected to bat first and wickets fell steadily to Luke Fleetwood (2-10) and Jonathan Holden (4-27) and they were indebted to a late assault from Mosan Raza, who bludgeoned 29 to give the score some respectability on a tricky wicket. The visitors were soon in trouble to the slow wobblers from Jonathan Shaw (4-18) and Dan Proctor (3-28) but opener James Marshall remained stoic to play his way cautiously to 33.

He looked like carrying his bat to victory before spooning a simple catch with 16 still needed for victory and the home side sensing victory with only the two old timers to come in.

However, Jonathan Holden had other ideas as after a steadying period captain Simon Ainley brought himself back on and was hit for three consecutive fours by Holden to seal the win.