THE RUGBY Football League has ruled out a neutral venue for the Betfred Championship Grand Final but says the league leaders will no longer be guaranteed home advantage.

The governing body outlined an amended structure for both the Championship and League One play-offs at the launch of the 2020 season in Huddersfield, where the game was founded 125 years ago.

The winners of the Championship's top-five play-offs will again be promoted automatically to Super League but the venue for the final, which was previously determined by final league positions, can now be changed by results in the play-offs.

It means the winners of the major semi-final in round two of the play-offs will earn home advantage in the Grand Final two weeks later while the losers of that semi will be at home in the preliminary final the following weekend.

The same system will apply to the League One play-offs involving the teams finishing second, third, fourth, fifth and six in the table, with the winners earning promotion to the Championship along with the league leaders.

The Championship gets under way on January 31 and Sky Sports will once more show live coverage of the play-offs, culminating in the Grand Final on the weekend of October 3-4.

The RFL also announced the 1895 Cup final at Wembley on July 18 will be played as a curtain-raiser to the Coral Challenge Cup final.

When the final was held for the first time in 2019, between Sheffield and Widnes, it took place after the main game and was watched by a pitifully small crowd.

The traditional Wembley schools curtain-raiser will now have a morning kick-off, before the 1895 Cup final takes place at midday.

Mark Foster, the RFL's chief commercial officer, said: "We've listened to the views of clubs and supporters in working to change the kick-off time of the AB Sundecks 1895 Cup.

"We're grateful for the co-operation of Wembley Stadium in allowing us to bring the kick-off forward and we hope that change will be welcomed - and ensure a suitable atmosphere in the stadium when the winners receive their trophy."