NO rocking and hopping required for Kirkby Malzeard trialler Dave Mawer at the Ripon Motor Club's fifth Rock and Hop trial at Braisty Woods high above the Nidderdale village of Summerbridge.

He managed to ride all 14 sections three times without incurring a single penalty. He won the hard route class, just, from Scorton teenager Elliott Laws, who lost a single mark in section eighth on lap two.

Barnoldswick engineer Anthony Ayrton was third on double figures - 10. His 16-year-old daughter Lucy battled with a hard course.

The top youth was Ben Hodgson who finished overall fourth, well clear of Jacob Reeday.

Beta retailer Paul Sadler escaped from his office to win the Green class from Phil Hammond and Rob Hardisty.

The Club ran 115 in the main classes. One notable name and class winner was Silsden 11-year-old Max Lampkin, son of James and grandson of Alan 'Sid' Lampkin.

Despite some rain the woodland, just south of Brimham Rocks, provided a top class event. Part of the area was used about twenty years ago.


Hard Course:

Novices: Dave Mawer (Vertigo) 0, Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 1, Anthony Ayrton (Montesa) 2.

Class A: Ben Hodgson (TRS) 16, Harry Mugridge (Gas Gas) 37, Dan Hodgson (Beta) 42.

Class B: Jacob Reeday (Beta) 34, Josh McPartland (Scorpa) 36, Arran Sherwin (Beta) 54.

Green course:

Novices: Paul Sadler (Beta) 3, Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 4, Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 8.

Class B: Fraser Proudlock (Gas Gas) 15, Oliver Wright (Beta) 42, Sam Chapman (Vertigo) 46.

Easy course:

Novices: Chris Dale (Beta) 0, Ian Hall (Fantic) 1, Adrian Thwaite (Gas Gas) 1.

Class A: 1 Maisie Townson (Beta) 159.

Class B: 1 Joel Thwaite (TRS) 14, Callum Edmondson (Beta) 25, Leuan Tomos Parsons (Beta) 71.

Class C: 1 Max Lampkin (Beta) 9, Matthew Hall (Beta) 115, Alanna Eagleton (Beta) 159.


Hard route:

Class C: 1 Sam Ethell 8, Bailey Huntbach 18, Will Ethell 32, (all Beta).

Class D: 1 Alfie Astwood (Beta) 14.

Easy route:

Class C: 1 Jack Slater (|Beta) 16, Evie -Rae Edmundson (Oset) 17, Elijah Kitching (Oset) 27.

Class D: 1 Joshua Tate (Oset) 4, Joshua Phillips (Oset) 24, William Hemingway (Beta) 33.

Class E: William Nicholson (Oset) 43, Callum Crockford (Beta) 95.