DIVISION One runners-up the Adil Rashid Cricket Academy have won the Bradford & District Evening League finals day play-off - but only just.

They lifted the Les Benson Memorial Trophy by one wicket in the final against Division One champions Ciroc at Great Horton Park Chapel.

In the first semi-final at Ewart Street, the Academy were in fine batting form against Division Two champions Hepworth & Idle and amassed the highest score of the day - 168-8 off 18 overs.

Opener Mohammed Bilal (25) and Adam Ahmed (33) got the Academy off to a flying start as they reached 72-2 off seven overs, but it was Sami Rehman’s destructive 54 not out in just 21 balls, including a four and six sixes, that elevated the score, despite the best efforts of Jonathan Robinson (4-37).

It was always going to be an uphill struggle for the Westfield Laners from there, and when they lost star all-rounder and league batting award winner Kevin McDermott run out on 24, it became mission impossible.

Brother Simon McDermott offered some late resistance with a belligerent 41, which contained three sixes and two fours, but by then the writing was on the wall as Hepworth & Idle ended what has been a wonderful season for them on 126-5.

In the second semi-final, holders Ciroc took on an experienced John Breare side, who had gained promotion back to the top flight by finishing runners up in Division Two.

Batting first, Mushy Shah (51no) was the mainstay of Ciroc's 141-5, ably supported by Bilal Ahmed (22) and Awais Ejaz (22).

Ciroc’s bowlers then went to work on Breare, reducing them to 33-5 at  halfway as none of Breare’s big hitters were able to find their league form.

There was no way back from there and, despite a defiant late 35 from Matthew Tinsley, Breare could only finish on 92-9.

And so the stage was set for the clash of the top two teams from Division One.

Batting first, Ciroc’s innings never really got going and they were never to build any meaningful partnerships as tight bowling from the Academy, led by skipper Amar Rashid (3-14) and Mohammed Bilal (2-12), reduced the holders to 106 all out with three balls to spare.

Bilal Ejaz (42) and Raqeeb Younis (32) were Ciroc’s top scorers.

With the Academy’s strong batting line-up, the result seemed a formality, especially when opener Mohammed Bilal hit a quickfire 40, including a four and five sixes, but that hid the drama that was to follow.

Displaying a never-say-die spirit, Ciroc kept plugging away, and soon the runs dried up and wickets began to tumble at regular intervals.

With the ground bathed in an end-of-the day sunshine, the Academy found themselves needing just one run to tie and two runs to win with eight balls remaining, but with nine wickets down!

Awais Ejaz fired down what proved to be the final delivery of the game, which Maqiz Khan edged through the vacant slip area for the match- winning boundary.

League secretary Phil Poole Senior thanked Great Horton Park Chapel for the magnificent job they had done in hosting the finals day before league president Geoff Fisher and league chairman Brian Lymbery presented the awards.

Winning raffle numbers: 1 256-262, 2 006-010, 3 046-050, 4 386-390, 5 476-480, 6 226-230, 7 296-300. First prize still to be claimed (please contact Brian Lymbery on 07710-838909).