KEIRAN Child, who works at Colin Appleyard's motor-cycle dealership in Keighley, was the surprise winner of Yeadon-Guiseley and District Motor Club's DT Smith Trophy Centre Trial at Addingham Moorside.

The event not only attracted a healthy entry in terms of numbers, but also a high quality one that included a couple of Lampkins and Hemingways, as well as Harden's Martin Crosswaite, Jack Challoner and Sam Yeadon.

However, it was the 17-year-old from Eccleshill, Bradford who reigned supreme, despite losing a point on the final section.

Scott Trial winner Dougie Lampkin, from Silsden, was the pre-trial favourite but both he and Crosswaite fived that final section, which Challoner conquered on his Montesa 4RT – a feat unequalled by any of the 19 hard course competitors.

Keighley teenager Jacob Snowdon was second novice on the Clubman A course, while Alfie Lampkin grabbed eighth place out of 28 starters to notch a Class C victory.

Twenty small-wheelers under the direction of Sean Fletcher competed on a six-section, four-lap course.

Poppy Fletcher took on the hard route and won, but also collected a wayward Oset on the back of her left leg so imped her way to the finish.

Max Lampkin – Jim's boy – easily won the middle-route class from Harrison Plant and Ellis Barton, while Harvey Davison took the easy route ahead of eight contestants.

Results – Hard course, experts: 1 Dec Bullock (Gas Gas) 4, 2 = Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo

(Beta), Martin Crosswaite (Montesa) 5. Inters: 1 Tom Rushton (Montesa) 26, 2 Thomas Housecroft (Beta) 30, 3 Louis Haley (Montesa) 35. Novices: 1 Keiran Child (Beta) 1, Luke Kay (Sherco) 56, 3 Phillip Hancock (Beta) 85. Youth Class A: Edward Earle (Beta) 75. Clubman A novices: 1 Richard Mellon (Vertigo) 7, 2 Jacob Snowdon (Beta) 13, 3 Michael Benn (Gas Gas) 15. Youth Class B: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta|) 26, 2 Harvey Taglione (Gas Gas) 35, 3 Henry Stephenson (Beta) 38. Clubman B novices: 1 Tom Green (Sherco) 15, 2 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 21, 3 Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 22. Youth Class C: 1 Alfie Lampkin (Beta) 38, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 51, 3 Charlie Crosland (Beta) 86. Small-wheels, hard course: Poppy Fletcher (Oset) 100. Middle course: 1 Max Lampkin (Beta) 17, 2 Harrison Plant (Oset) 26, 3 Ellis Barton 51. Easy course: 1 Harvey Davison (Beta) 5, 2 Bobby Crabtree (Oset) 20, 3 Joseph Davison (Oset) 25.