THE LAMPKINS hit the jackpot on Boxing Day at Howden Wood where Dougie and John topped their respective classes.

Dougie dropped one mark on section two on lap two of the annual Bradford & District Motor Club trial at Silsden, while John cruised non-stop through the 12 sections on his Fantic twin shock.

In the expert class the chief opposition for Dougie were his Hemingway cousins. Ben was working wonders with the four stroke Beta and was four marks down on his relative at the finish to come second, while Dan was third.

Silsden birthday girl Gabby Whitham, who turned 17 on Christmas Day, played safe and finished fifth in her class.

Course designer Nathan Wrigglesworth had problems at section 12. His Scorpa got out of hand after the sharp left hand turn and dived right, then left, before the south Craven rider took command.

The trial could be the club's last unless vital volunteers required to stage top-class events come forward.

Results – Hard course: Over-40 experts: 1 Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo) 1, 2 Ben Hemingway (Beta) 5, 3 Dan Hemingway (Beta) 30. Inters: 1 Tom Rushton (Montesa) 83.

Over-40 Inter: Anthony Ayrton (Beta) 86.

Novices: 1 Tom Middleton (Beta) 59, 2 Zac Sherwin (Beta) 79.

Youth Class A: 1 William Tolson (Beta) 67, 2 Jake Eley (Beta) 99.

Clubman A: Over-45 Expert: 1 Paul Turner (Gas Gas) 40. Clubman A Over-40 Novice: 1 John Lampkin (Fantic) 22, 2 Richard Pearson (Beta) 58, 3 Aaron Dugdale (Honda) 77.

Club Over-40 Inter: Neil Sharpe (Gas Gas) 50.

Novices: 1 Josh Isherwood (Beta) 54, 2 Phil Blacka (Scorpa) 60, 3 Matt Rushton (Gas Gas) 66.

Youth Class B: 1 Alice Minta (Beta) 47, 2 Harry Turner (Gas Gas) 47, 3 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 57.

Clubman B: Novices: Dan Lambert (Vertigo) 49, 2 Jason Hancock (Vertigo) 53, 3 Shaun Szulan (TRS) 66. Over-40 novices: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 27, 2 Richard Taylor (Scorpa) 31, 3 Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 36. Youth Class B: 1 Alfie Lampkin (Beta) 53, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 60, 3 Josh Pearson (Beta) 97. Youth Class C: Myles Hutchinson (Beta) 125.


Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club, Renee Smith Memorial Charity Trial, Dob Park, Thursday.

The Busfeild Arms at East Morton were short of the landlord when Martin Crosswaite opted for some hard trials riding at Dob Park, where he won Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club's Renee Smith Memorial Charity Trial, defeating some top county competitors.

Crosswaite attacked all 20 sections riding his powerful Montesa machine and defeated national trials winner Richard Sadler (Beta) by a single penalty. Ben Hemingway and Ashby de la Zouch MRS Teamster Luke Walker finished a distant third and fourth on the two lap all woodland course.

Osett's Thomas Housecroft grabbed the Inter class from a slightly jaded Rawdon Montesa rider Louis Haley, who had just jetted in from New York.

Liversedge competitor Jamie Stephenson was bang on form and won the Clubman A category from Barnoldswick's Anthony Ayrton and Buxton's Paul Turner.

Clubman B went to Neil Gaunt from Tony Holme and Fewston electrician James Noble who thundered round on a vintage 500cc Ariel machine.

His mighty efforts kept some very big names off the rostrum. Cullingworth's Robin Luscombe was placed fourth while former multi-world champion Yrjo Vesterinen got his BSA Bantam home in sixth place.

Mike Hinch and his crack team of Sam, Ben and Mark Yeadon, Andy Carter, Thomas Housecroft and Danny Cockshott plotted the two-lap 20 section format which shortened the time that the observers had to endure in sub-zero temperatures.


Hard course

Experts: 1 Martin Crosswaite (Montesa) 5, 2 Richard Sadler (Beta) 6, 3 Ben Hemingway (Beta) 14.

Inters: 1 Thomas Housecroft (Beta) 42, 2 Louis Haley (Montesa) 50, 3 Andrew Carter (Gas Gas) 80.

Novices: Zac Sherwin (Beta) 107.

Youth Class A: 1 Jake Eley (Beta) 127, 2 Adam Juffs (Beta) 138.

Clubman A

Novices: 1 Jamie Stephenson (Montesa) 18, 2 Anthony Ayrton (Beta) 29, Paul Turner (Gas Gas) 33.

Youth Class A: Joe Alderson (Montesa) 80.

Youth Class B: 1 Harry Turner (Gas Gas) 42, 2 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 49, 3 Alice Minta (Beta) 55.

Clubman B

Novices: 1 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 3, 2 James Noble (Ariel) 12, Karl Greaves (Beta) 19.

Over-40s: 1 Andrew Walters (Beta) 39, 2 Michael Winstanley (Beta) 48, 3 Chris Maggs (Gas Gas) 56.

Over-50s: 1 Tony Holmes (Beta) 10, 2 Robin Luscombe (Triumph) 12, 3 Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 13.

Youth Class B: 1 Oliver Winstanley (Beta) 99, 2 Max Marston (Gas Gas) 102, 3 Lucy Ayrton (Beta) 135.

Youth Class C: 1 George Hemingway (Beta) 43, 2 Charlie Crossland (Beta) 62, 3 Jasper Fox (Beta) 110.

Small wheels hard course: 1 Harrison Lightfoot 38, 2 Kai Fairhurst 73 (All Oset).

Middle course: 1 Oliver Arkwright (Beta) 30, 2 Jimmy Crabtree (Oset) 31, 3 Poppy Fletcher (Oset) 35.

Easy courses: 1 Isobel Skehan (Beta) 18, 2 Charles Skehan (Oset) 19, 3 Aiden Harrison (Oset) 30.


The West Leeds Motor Club closed their trials programme with the traditional end of season Presidents Trial at Post Hill on Boxing Day where 42 competitors battled with a soggy 13 section trials course and three short laps.

Pre-event rain just made the sections more difficult than planned and the penalties were higher than normal. On the hard route Sam Beecroft-Penny eased away on his new TRS to win the class. The Rawdon contender finished 20 marks in front of Cookridge builder Liam Walker to win the Frank Fletcher Trophy.

Bumpy club member Aaron Holmes was too sharp for Mirfield footwear retailer Andrew Jackson. Many of the trophies were won by non-club members but at least club secretary Mark Chippendale restored some order by winning the Clubman class from club colleague Mark Forster.