The Tour de Yorkshire will be passing through the Keighley and Worth Valley region next year, it has been revealed.

Haworth, Silsden, Oxenhope, Kildwick, Riddlesden, Keighley and Denholme are among the locations on the route.

The areas will feature on the third stage, nicknamed The Yorkshire Terrier as this is the toughest stage in the history of the Tour de Yorkshire.

Riders will start at Bradford City Park before heading into Saltaire. Skipton is the next town on the agenda, with the first of eight categorised climbs being contested on the Côte de Silsden.

The following ascent comes on the cobbled rise up Haworth’s picturesque main street and another climb at Leeming must also be tackled before they face the infamous Côte de Shibden Wall. This cobbled brute could see splits form before the intermediate sprint at Clifton.

The race then traverses from West to South Yorkshire and into Penistone, and another sprint is on the cards at Stocksbridge before the riders embark on a torturous 22km finishing circuit that features no-less than four categorised climbs. These come at Deepcar, Wigtwizzle, Ewden Height and Midhopestones before the race reaches its climax at Fox Valley.

The full route for the 2017 Tour de Yorkshire was unveiled at a press release this morning.

Welcome to Yorkshire Chief Executive Sir Gary Verity led the conference with the Amaury Sport Organisation’s Tour de France Director Christian Prudhomme. Scott Thwaites was one of many star riders in attendance along with Yorkshire cycling legends such as Brian Robinson, Malcolm Elliott and Denise Burton