A FLY-past by a Lancaster bomber was among the highlights of a village gala.

The plane performed three low-level circuits of Harden gala field as Saturday’s event was opened.

“It was brilliant,” said a spokesman.

The gala began as usual with a procession, led by the Saxaphonics, making their debut at the event.

Among those taking part in the parade were Gala Queen Isabella Blamires and her attendants Livvy Copland and Isla Glennon, fancy dress entrants, vintage vehicles and members of village organisations.

Some activities during the afternoon were affected by the weather.

“In between the rain we had two mainly-dry hours when the gala functioned normally,” said the spokesman.

“The Gala Queen and attendants formally opened the event and they were a credit all afternoon.

“Children’s races were seriously contested and the last race, for the Caterpillar Cup, just beat the deluge.

“The last hour was literally a washout. Not even the bubble-blowing competition that traditionally closes the gala managed to survive.

“A local tractor worked overtime pulling vehicles from the field, up to the entrance – a noble gesture very much appreciated by the gala committee and our visitors.”

The committee thanked everyone who helped out at the event and all those who attended.


Fancy dress winners: pre-school – girls Elsie Edwards, boys Jonah Weddersburn; key stage 1 – girls Lily Cookson, boys Noah Kicks; key stage 2 – girls Emily Charlesworth; decorated wheeled vehicle or toy – 1 Harriet Hall, 2 Noah Kicks, 3 Alexander Whistlecroft.

Flat-race winners: Boys 5 years Zack Bairstow, girls 5 years Matilda McBride; boys 6 years Sidney Holt, girls 6 years Rosie Dale; boys 7 years Sam Sharpe, girls 7 years Amelia Leng; boys 8 years, Henry Holt, girls 8 years Bethan Buckley.

Potato/spoon boys Henry Holt, girls Bethan Buckley; sack U9 boys Henry Holt, U9 girls Lauren Hacksby, 9-12 boys Fraser Campbell, 9-12 girls Katie Buckley; wheelbarrow boys Jamie Hacksby and Harrison Pullan, girls Katie Buckley and Alice O’Sullivan; 3-legged boys Will Lunn and Jamie Hacksby, girls Megan Wilkinson and Katie Scanlan; Caterpillar Cup, boys team.