GREAT Horton Park Chapel will again host the Bradford & District Evening League’s showpiece finals day on Monday.

The first game at Ewart Street starts at 11am, with Division Two champions Undercliffe taking on Division One runners-up Greenfield.

Bradford League outfit Undercliffe have had immediate success in their debut season.losing only one game so far this season.

They have in their ranks Division Two and league batting award winner Fahid Rehman, who has an incredible average of 116 from his 10 innings.

Their powerful batting line-up is further enhanced by Michael Kelsey, a bowler who has been converted into an explosive opening bat; evergreen skipper Jack Holland, veteran Gully Ahmed and overseas all-rounder Khalid Usman.

The latter joins a bowling attack which includes pacemen Zeeshan Qasim and Craig Wiseman and spinner Sunny Matharu.

Despite finishing runners-up in the higher division, Greenfield will be slight underdogs, having lost five games during the regular season and only avoiding being relegated the previous season due to clubs dropping out.

However, on their day, Greenfield can be dangerous opponents for any side and can also boast high-profile players such as Sajad Ali, Danish Hussain, Waleed Akhtar and Jibiril Malik, as well as home-grown opener Adeel Ahmed.

Greenfield also have the experience of competing on finals day two years ago.

The second semi-final will start about 1.30pm and features Division One champions Ciroc against Division Two runners-up Buttershaw St Paul’s.

A powerful, star-studded Ciroc retained their Division One championship this season, but lost two games and tied another, which proves that they are fallible.

However, they are packed with potential-match winners such as Adam Ahmed (Durham Academy), Tuseif Arshad, Adal Islam, Kez Ahmed, Zeeshan Haider, Ismail Dawood and Division One batting trophy winner Hamzah Iqbal, and they are skippered by the experienced Mushy Shah from Bilton.

They were also the Les Benson Memorial Trophy play-off champions in 2016, and narrowly lost last year’s final to the Adil Rashid Cricket Academy by just one wicket.

New boys Buttershaw St Paul’s, who will be the outsiders, also enjoyed a very successful season back in the Evening League and pushed fellow Bradford Leaguers Undercliffe to the last game of the season before the latter finally claimed the title.

They were also the only side to defeat the champions during the season.

Talisman Kevin McDermott, who scooped all the league batting, bowling and fielding awards last year, has been injured for most of the season but should be back for finals day.

His brother Simon stepped up to the plate in Kevin’s absence to take on the main batting responsibilities during the season, ably assisted by Jordan Laban, with James Sawyer being their most successful bowler.

The Grand Final, on what promises to be an explosive day of cricket, will start about 4.30pm, and umpiring duties will be shared between Glenn Sewell, David Shepherd and Graham Langton.

The finals day is not only the league’s showpiece event, but is also their main fundraiser, and all Evening League clubs are asked to support the event.

Admission is free, while food and drink will be available throughout the day.

The season’s individual awards will also be presented – Barlow Cup (league batting): Fahid Rehman (Undercliffe). Waddilove Cup (league bowling): Tom Westerman (John Breare). Steve Priestley Cup (league wicket-keeping): Chris Brown (Great Horton Park Chapel). Division One, batting: Hamzah Iqbal (Ciroc). Bowling: Tom Westerman (John Breare). Division Two, batting: Fahid Rehman (Undercliffe). Bowling: Blair Oakley (Great Horton Park Chapel).