Oxenhope 161 all out

Copley 162-3

OXENHOPE crashed to a seven-wicket opening day defeat to Copley in the Spenser Wilson Halifax League Premier Division.

Oxenhope were put in to bat at Copley on a good track that offered the bowlers some help.

The loss of Josh Fleetwood in the first over was a big blow and he was quickly followed by debutant Ben Howell and Lewis Hopkinson as they were reduced to 21-3.

Eddie Jackson was looking solid and Joe Ousey threatened briefly to pick up last season's excellent form before falling lbw for 15.

Chris Kibble joined Jackson and steadied the innings going on top score with 37.

Jackson's dismissal for a promising 27 brought skipper Josh Tetley to the crease and he again got a good start before being dismissed for 22.

With overs running out, Joel Fothergill put bat to ball and hit a brisk 25 not out before running out of partners as the innings closed on 161 all out.

The home side shared the wickets, with three each for Ian Hartley, Liam Hickson and Oliver Thorpe.

With plenty of overs and a small total to chase, Copley batted steadily with an opening stand of 23 before Alex Bagborough was dismissed by Scott Malinson for 14.

However, Matthew Rowles (37) and Oliver Thorpe (68no) put them in site of victory.

Oxenhope hopes were lifted briefly when Ben Howell took two wickets in consecutive balls, but Will Rushton joined Thorpe to see out the victory with 34 not out finishing the innings with a straight six.

Fothergill once again proved a handful with his quick left arm deliveries without reward and Ben Howell showed promise.