TWO KEIGHLEY district riders have been confirmed as champions of their class in the Acklams Beta British Ladies and Girls Trials Championship.

With scores having been ratified by the Auto Cycle Union Trials and Enduro Committee, Olivia Brooksbank and Beth Dunning can celebrate finishing top of their categories.

Denholme 14-year-old Brooksbank won all six Class B age group events and headed her section by a massive 19 championship points.

Crossflatts' Beth Dunning has won the Ladies Intermediate class by virtue of winning the last event in the series.

Emma Bristow retains her title as adult British champion from Chesterfield's Jess Bown. Silsden's Gabby Whitham was placed sixth and is the youngest contender at age 16.

Summer Brooksbank – Olivia's sister, aged eight – was sixth in Class C, just ahead of Cookridge's Poppy Fletcher.

Barnoldswick's Lucy Ayrton was placed sixth in Class B.

* Barnsley builder Neil Savage matched Silsden rider Dougie Lampkin's recent winning score by riding the entire Yeadon-Guiseley club's trials course at Dob Park for a single penalty.

His family go back four generations and his main rival last Sunday was his teenage daughter Megan, along with British Ladies contenders Whitham, Dunning, Alice Minta and Olivia Brooksbank.

In addition to that quartet there were 47 male contenders of all ages and sizes. The annual Dave Curry Trophy event also attracted a further 21 youngsters who rode a separate seven-section three class course.

The small wheelers rode a short course at the top of Dob Park which featured gradients

and narrow steam gullies but without too much water flowing.

Only two contested the hard course which went to Will Sagar. Max Lampkin, youngest son of James, just managed to win the middle route course from Harrison Lightfoot who out-cleaned Jimmy Crabtree on a most-cleans decider.

The main course was centred on Brown's Wood which was reasonable after weeks of heavy rain. Even the hill climb, which formed the backdrop of the second section, was mild.

Will Minta took the tenth section where the double loop across the track featured rock steps to get back out of the wood; the final step was angled round a stout tree which many tested with their elbows.

Olivia Brooksbank really gave it a good knock and will no doubt display a bruised elbow this week. Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club, Dave Curry Trophy Trial, Dob Park, Clifton, Sunday.

Results, Novices: 1 Neil Savage (Gas Gas) 1, 2 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 8, 3 Phillip Hammond

(Sherco) 10, 4 Paul Gravestock (Scorpa) 14, 5 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 23, 6 Gabby Whitham (Beta) 25.

Non-competitive: Anthony Ayrton (Beta) 2.

Youth Class A: Robert Weatherill (Beta) 19.

Youth Class B: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 2, 21 Alice Minta (Beta) 30, 3 Olivia Brooksbank (Beta) 42.

Youth Class C: 1 George Hemingway (Beta) 59, 2 Arran Sherwin (Beta) 142.

Small wheels hard route: 1 William Sagar (Beta) 44, 2 Charlie Petty (Oset) 59.

Small wheels middle route: Max Lampkin (Beta) 29, 2 Harrison Lightfoot (Oset) 31, 32 Jimmy Crabtree (Oset) 31.

Small wheels easy route: 1 Joe Isherwood (Oset) 5, 2 Bobby Crabtree (Oset) 17, 3 Harvey Davison (Beta) 20.