KEIGHLEY junior Ellie Kildunne has been selected for the senior England Women's rugby union squad for the three-match Old Mutual Wealth Test series against Canada.

The 18-year-old is one of seven new names in head coach Simon Middleton's squad which will convene at Bisham Abbey on November 13.

Her selection is another feather in Keighley's cap after former junior player James Whitcombe made his England under-16 debut back in May.

Whitcombe used to play in the same rugby league team as Kildunne at Keighley Albion.

Other uncapped England players alongside Kildunne, who is now on the books of Gloucester & Hartbury Women's Rugby Union Club, are Jo Brown, Jess Breach, Abigail Dow, Zoe Harrison, Caity Mattinson and Lagi Tuima.

There are also 18 players returning who were part of the squad that reached the Rugby World Cup final in Ireland this summer.

Middleton said: "We're really excited, we know the challenge will be different this season.

"We have new additions to the squad, a good combination of experience but also some new and exciting talent.

"We have full confidence that they can come up to standard quickly and showcase their talents, with our more experienced players leading from the front and setting the example that the youngsters need to follow.

"Our focus this season will be about winning and that will stay top of our agenda. We have indoctrinated a winning culture in the squad last season and we want to keep this winning mentality throughout this one."

Alongside the announcement of the Old Mutual Wealth series squad, England have also named a wider 35-woman Elite Player Squad (EPS) for the 2017/18 season.

The RFU are concluding discussions with the Rugby Players' Association on a remuneration structure for the EPS women's 15s squad which will be finalised before the series begins.


Sarah Bern (Gloucester-Hartpury Women's RFC), Jo Brown (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC), Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies), Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies), Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women), Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies), Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries), Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning), Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Justine Lucas (Wasps FC Ladies)

Harriet Millar-Mills (Wasps FC Ladies), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies), Marlie Packer (Saracens Women), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies).


Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies), Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies), Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women), Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Abigail Dow (Wasps FC Ladies), Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women), Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women's RFC), Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies), Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies), Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies), Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies), Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies).